2012 Vimeo Award Winners

2012, Media  -  11 min Leave a Comment
Rating from 1 user
Report Documentary


2 min read

Vimeo announced the winners of this year's Vimeo Festival + Awards at a packed house at NYU’s Skirball Center. The 2012 Vimeo Festival + Awards show celebrated the world’s most creative online film and video.

This year, the Awards received 14,567 entries from 147 countries around the world! The 13 winners - from categories ranging from animation, fashion, extreme sports, advertising and more - each won grants of $5,000.

Then, the one grand prize winner, directing collective Everynone received an additional $25,000 for its film, Symmetry.

Vimeo presented the awards in New York City with a one-of-a kind sound and motion-responsive, projection-mapped awards show set designed by arts and technology collective Seeper, with live performances from Reggie Watts and Beardyman and presenters such as Oscar nominated documentary director, Lucy Walker.

The documentary winner is a little 9 min doc called Amar (All Great Achievements Require Time). Here it is below.


The 2012 Vimeo Awards category winners are:

The winners were selected by panels of three judges per category. Judges included actor and director James Franco; Parks and Recreation star Aziz Ansari; 2012 Oscar Nominee Lucy Walker; Radiohead’s Colin Greenwood; Scott Pilgrim vs. the World director Edgar Wright; snowboard superstar Travis Rice; Thierry Mugler and UNIQLO creative director Nicola Formichetti; Shelley Page of DreamWorks Animation; Barbara London of The Museum of Modern Art; advertising legend David Droga; and many more.